Athenry GAA finished 2019 on a high – winning trophies in Hurling and Football.  The Junior A footballers clinched the Division 5 league title with a victory over Corofin under lights in Corofin.  Captain Sean McVeigh accepted the cup for Paulie Farrell’s men with Aaron Leggett picking up the man of the match award.  The hurlers won the U21 A Hurling title beating a much-fancied Clarinbridge team in the final held in Kenny Park on December 7th.  After coming out of the group on score difference the Athenry lads beat Ardrahan in the semifinal with Ronan Hardiman scoring the all-important goal which proved to be the difference between the teams.  Another goal in the final, this time by Donal Parr in the first half proved the crucial score. Darren Collins added a second soon after.  The final score was Athenry 2-9 Clarinbridge 0-11 and win was achieved with an outstanding defensive display with Ian O’Shea and Jack Mac Cullagh to the fore.  At the club AGM held the following week manager Niall Sunderland was honored with the Club person of the year award for his work with this and the Junior A hurling team. 

u21 Hurlers

Back row (Left to Right)

Dean Treacy, Mathew Treacy, Ian O’Shea, Eoin Lawless, Jack Mac Cullagh, Noel Keogh, Patrick Rabbitte, Alan Haverty, Jack Dowling, Ronan Kindregan, Ciaran Hardiman, Mark Hardiman, Ronan Hardiman, Eoin Caulfield, Martin Cullen, DJ Sommers,

Front row (Left to Right)

Brandon Lee, Conor Tully, Jamie Treacy, Darren Collins, Donal Parr, Shane Quirke, Liam Egan, Paddy Holland, Cillian Lawless, Mark Moran, Emmet Ruane, Cathal Page

Eoin Caulfield in action in u21 final
Captain Ronan Hardiman lifts the trophy
Donal Parr receiving the Man of the match Award
Ronan Kindregan, Cillian Lawless and Noel Keogh in the victors dressing room

Noel Keogh in action against Clarinbridge in county u21 a Final
Niall Sunderland receiving the Club person of the year award the club AGM

Paul Murphy, PRO Athenry GAA, 403